Month: September 2012

  • My Life

    “This life therefore is not righteousness, but growth in righteousness, not health, but healing, not being but becoming, not rest, but exercise. We are not yet what we shall be, but we are growing toward it, the process is not yet finished, but it is going on, this is not the end, but it is the road. All does not yet gleam in glory, but all is being purified.” -Martin Luther

     

    My guy is back from his long trip west and it is SO nice to have him home! He came over for supper last night and we had a lot of fun…but that’s a subject for next month’s post. I’m so far behind in posting, things are getting a bit mixed up. :P Sadly, I still haven’t gotten a recent pic of us together so I can’t count it in with my thankfulness pics…but I had to mention it somehow so here’s a random paragraph right at the beginning. :)

     

    This photo was actually taken in July but I forgot to post it! It’s such an awesome pic (mostly because I had to call

    upon all my powers of patience to get it right when he spread his wings like this) that I had to give it the honor of 

    being on a post…even if it is a month late. :)

     

    Rubita’s flowers 

     

    snuggles and giggles in the morning

     

    his unending energy and expressiveness

     

    this little family…I love them.

     

    hoagie on a tailgait :)

     

    herbs in a windowsill…and colorful pots 

     

    flower girl (doesn’t she make you grin?)

     

    My gorgeous Kaye…I got to spend a whole week with her! :) :)

     

    Here we are, about to walk across a bridge we weren’t supposed to :) :P

     

    Here’s a pic of the bridge…it was fun walking across it…a sense of daring and adventure pervaded the air :)

     

     

    The three of us together…it was wonderful, to say the least :)

     

    that day we went to the amusement park and I got a ride on the steepest roller coaster in the world…it was intense :)

     

    tender moment with butterfly ;)

     

    Kaye’s bridge

     

    heart on butterfly (just for me, thank you, God:)

     

     

    corny meal at Kaye’s house..it was great :)

     

    best cupcakes ever…I love Lewistown (partly because of these, and partly because Kaye lives there:)

     

    Seeing this delightful couple twice in the same month!

     

    trees

     

    Things at work have been going great! I’ve had my down days…those frantic ones where nothing is working out and you just know you’re not going to make it and you just can’t keep up. But I survive them and go home and go back the next day and things get better. So far, I’m only taking 3 patients…it looks like that will change next week and I’ll start taking 4…and then 5…and then the entire group while my preceptor just makes sure I’m doing everything right. I love my preceptor by the way. She’s great. Calm, unhurried, competent, good at explaining things and catching my mistakes before they’re too huge. The census at the Hospital has been at the bursting point this past week. We had so many patients there wasn’t room for any more and we had to send people off to Lynchburg. Things got pretty hectic. I’m proud of my little Hospital for how well we took care of all the patients we had though. 

     

    I’m learning about delegation and coordination and leadership. They’re all things God didn’t gift me with. But I’m trying to learn them anyway…and He’s helping me. 

     

    *small warning* Anika and Maya came to visit this month and I took loads of pics of them and I must post a lot. It’s a compulsion. It’s also a good thing they’re both beautiful and fun to look at…;)

    little girl on swing

     

    that wrinkly nose when she laughs

     

    that smile (she really is the personification of all things sweet and squishy)

     

    half body pics that capture happiness; this was an accident but I love the result :)

     

    those curls

     

    twirling girl

     

    :)

     

    scribbling sidewalk chalk

     

    her softness

     

    Them…their beauty and their love for each other, and that they’re a part of my life. I’m truly blessed.

     

    smoothies and sidewalk chalk and nieces..<3

     

    Anika requested a butterfly drawn…then she colored in the spaces while Maya pointed at things…it was a happy moment for me. :)

     

    the ethereal quality a parasol lends to a pic :)

     

    happiness :)

     

    ahhh…:)

     

    her beautiful gray eyes

     

    Us :)

     

    daisy in August. I squeaked in pleasure when I first saw it!

     

    evening light

     

    an afternoon with this darling creature :)

     

    cappuccino with Dave’s awesome espresso machine…

     

    on a rainy morning

     

    all us handsome couples at the Eicher house…;)

     

    “I’m having one of those moments…right now.”

    “What moments?”

    “One of those moments when everything is so perfect and so wonderful that you almost feel sad because nothing can ever be this good again.”

    -Gilmore Girls

     

    I’ve been having a lot of moments like that this month. I feel like I’m on the brink of Change…and even if it’s the Good Kind of Change…it still makes me cling to Now. 

     

    I currently have 429 pics! Next month it’ll be even closer to halfway there! :)